Other bugs around the hives

I mentioned previously finding a rather large spider under the roof of one of my hives. Its not uncommon to find spirders, just that that one was pretty big and unusual. Normally, I see a couple spiders, but they are almost always the same type. I decided to try and take a picture of them (sorry, the focus is not always great – I need a camera with a macro setting).

The spiders range in size. Most interesting is they way they crouch in corners. They crouch with their legs together in sets of two (the first picture). I’m not sure my picture does it justice, but they always remind me of a cricket more than a spider when they are crouched like that. They will just stay like that unless I get them to move with a twig. I always let them go on the ground a little way from the hives, but there are always more when I come back the next time.

I also had a run in with a butterfly while checking a hive. It landed on the hive, then happily climbed on my finger and hung out for a little while. There are lots of butterflies around because the owner of the land where I keep the hives has a wonderful variety of flowering plants (including butterfly bush).

I most commonly see two types of butterflies. One is the type pictured above. I decided to try to take some pictures of the other main type I see too.

If anyone know anything about any of these (spiders or butterflies), I’d be interested in it.

6 Responses to “Other bugs around the hives”

  1. Mark Says:

    I believe they are both Eastern Tiger Swallowtails. The males are tiger yellow, and the females come yellow or black/blue, and rarely a yellow/black/blue. Looks like she’s lost her tails!

    Here’s a site with lots of great info NC flora and fauna:
    http://www.duke.edu/~cwcook/

  2. kawayanan Says:

    Thanks for the link Mark. 🙂

  3. Carlton Says:

    Thanks in favor of sharing such a pleasant thought, piece of writing is pleasant, thats why i
    have read it entirely

  4. real estate new york state Says:

    Very shortly this site will be famous among all blogging viewers, due to it’s pleasant posts

  5. Heriberto Says:

    Right now it sounds like WordPress is the preferred blogging platform
    available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  6. reupholster dining Chair youtube Says:

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great work, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

